Transferring and receiving money among friends, family, and other stakeholders have become the talk of the town as daily activities keep on booming globally. The growth in technology has completely changed the way and the pace at which money is transferred. Several money payment apps have been released into the system to make these transactions easy and fast.
One such app is Venmo, a peer-to-peer mobile money payment app. This interesting and popular app was released for use in 2009, and since then it has gained a lot of trust and popularity.
For some reason, users might block some friends on Venmo because they don’t want them to monitor their transactions by having them on their friend list.
Notwithstanding, users might have security issues in mind about specific people that will cause a problem when their transaction history or other information is disclosed to them. Having said that, this step-by-step guide will show you how to block someone on Venmo.
Blocking someone on Venmo
With millions of users on Venmo, users are more concerned about their online presence as they use this app. Most of the users want to keep their transactions anonymous and never want to share their details with other Venmo subscribers, as they see themselves as prone to security issues as they use the app.
By default, transactions on Venmo are made known publicly to friends. Due to this, several Venmo users have the option to block certain people from seeing their financial transactions or just remove them from their Friends list.
Can you block someone on Venmo?
Yes, you can block someone on Vnemo if that’s what you looking for. After you block them, you won’t appear in their friend’s list which means they can’t add you back as a friend, until you reverse the decision to unblock them.
How to Block Someone on Venmo
Below are the steps to block a user or friend on Venmo.
- The three lines icon should be tapped as you open the Venmo app on your device.
- Then tap on “Search People.”
- At this stage, navigate to the user’s profile page.
- Then tap the icon with the three circles at the upper right corner of the screen.
- Then finally, Tap on the “Block” icon as it appears on the screen.
Possible Effects of Blocking Someone on Venmo
Once a user has been blocked on the Venmo app, they will automatically be removed from your Venmo network. They will not be associated with your account again. In this case, you cannot find them again, even if you search for them. With this, no payments can be made.
When users are blocked, they will never receive any notification indicating that their account has been blocked. They can’t also search for your account, and no viable transaction can go on.
However, with time, they will realize that they have been blocked if they are not receiving any messages from you. Notwithstanding, they can detect this later when they use a new or another Venmo account. However, these steps should be followed if a user decides to unblock someone to access their life on Venmo.
How to Find Blocked Venmo Contacts or Users
Users who have been blocked on Venmo will find it difficult to see whether they have been blocked on Venmo.
The number of Venmo account holders causes some users to be afraid of the security measures that the platform is subjected to because, by default, a user’s activity can be monitored by his friends on his list.
Below are the steps to be followed to find blocked contacts or users on Venmo.
- Firstly, log into your Venmo account on your mobile device.
- Then tap on the three vertical lines at the top of the screen.
- At this stage, tap on the setting button
- You will then see the privacy button in the settings list.
- Click on the privacy button.
- After tapping on the privacy icon, you will see the blocked list-icon pop out. You then tap on the “blocked list” button, and the names of those that you have blocked will be seen. You can then select those that you want to unblock.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can you pay someone on Venmo and then block them?
Yes, you can pay someone on Vnemo and block them right away, as far as the transaction or payment is done.
Can users block someone who has blocked them on Venmo?
When you block someone on Venmo, all contact information and other vital information is instantly hidden.
At this stage, the profile cannot be accessed, so it will not be possible to block someone who has blocked your Venmo account.
Will Users Know That They Have Been Blocked on Venmo?
No, a user who has been blocked on Venmo can’t see that they have been blocked. Those blocked won’t be able to view your profile either.
Can a Venmo subscriber transfer money to a Venmo user that they have blocked?
To send or receive money to users in that category, you first need to unblock them. Alternatively, you need to use a different Venmo account to make it possible.
Due to Venmo’s default security settings, which allow friends to see their financial transactions, some subscribers have blocked some people on their friends list. If users see it as a matter of urgency to block people, then the steps outlined in this article will help solve that issue. Enjoy using the Venmo app and its interesting features now that you have a deep understanding of how to block someone on Venmo.